Tomfoolery

Charts and Graphs: “What do you do?”

The most common question I receive out here is “What do you do?” This question could be answered through a longer post explaining the Peace Corps mission and our health framework, which focuses on Malaria, HIV/AIDS and Maternal and Child health. Or I could direct you to the book, Where There Is No Doctor, a health guide written for rural health workers that aims to empower people to take charge of their own health, focuses on prevention amongst other things.

However, during my first three months, I am expected to focus on integrating with my community and working on my community needs assessment; thus, my days are filled with observation, looking over records and trying to find someone who has time to help me survey my community. But that does not take all day, which leaves plenty of time for other adventures, mishaps and mischief.

So without further ado, I present “A Day in the Life, Month 1”. A visual description of the average day neatly packaged into a pie chart:

IMG_6331.JPG

NOTE: Tea is the new black (coffee) of my life.

Another question received is “how are you doing?” Below, an easy way to determine my mood while at post:

IMG_6332

NOTE: Mood may fluctuate rapidly. For example, finishing a bag of cashews from home may cause bliss (due to eating food from home) followed by sadness (due to finishing the bag).

(Of course this fails to account other factors, depending on how my day went, who I talked to and yadda yadda yadda, but generally this is pretty accurate.)

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Charts and Graphs: “What do you do?”

Leave a Reply

