Photoggling

Fête de Travail

Happy Labor Day from Cameroon! Yes, you might think it strange that we celebrate Labor Day in May here, but actually, the United States is much stranger for celebrating in September, because the first of May is actually is Labor Day in most places in the world. The United States is the oddball who chose September, in order to still celebrate labor without fear of appearing communist to the rest of the world. (Just one of the many ways we like to be “exceptional.”)

Part I: Preparation and petits. My health center decided to cook a big meal for all the grands (aka important men) in my town. And when I say we, I mean the Chef du Centre decided and then the women cooked. (Except me, of course, white people don’t know how to cook, obviously.)

DSCN1578

DSCN1577

DSCN1582

DSCN1583

She liked to put fish on her head.

DSCN1581

DSCN1580

DSCN1579

Part II: When everyone discovered I had a camera and wanted to take a hundred photos of themselves, but also with me, the token nasara. Also includes chickens.

DSCN1584

DSCN1586

DSCN1632

DSCN1628

Note: I’m getting a lot better at not smiling in photos.

DSCN1624

DSCN1622

DSCN1619

My counterpart, Moussa, and family.

DSCN1614

DSCN1593

Attempts at a family photo.

DSCN1611

DSCN1608

DSCN1607

DSCN1605

DSCN1585

Standard

Leave a Reply

