Tomfoolery

Highs and Lows: Puberty? No, Peace Corps

“The highs are higher, the lows are lower.” 

Peace Corps has a lot of isms; this being one of them. Official or not, they are the things I hear from time to time, the things that are passed down from volunteer to volunteer. In regards to the last week, this phrase began to repeat itself in my head, a mantra of description as I roller coaster-ed through the week.

As an example, I present just two days, a mere forty-eight hours of my tumultuous life at post. (Update: It has recently come to my attention that I have small handwriting. Bigger version of pictures at the bottom.)

IMG_6605

Day 1: Tea and reading still continues to be a source of consistency in my life.

IMG_6610

Day 2: Free food is always nice perk of vaccination campaigns. On another note, whenever I think I have a bad day and then watch little children scream in terror at seeing their first white person and get pricked by needles, I remember my day could be much much worse.

Or the emotions of these days could be simplified with the following graph:

IMG_6613

“I just have a lot of feelings.”

Larger photos:

IMG_6607

IMG_6609

IMG_6611

IMG_6612

 

Standard

One thought on “Highs and Lows: Puberty? No, Peace Corps

  1. Pingback: Where There Is No Doctor, Pt. II: A Point for Jess | An Artichoke Abroad

Leave a Reply

