Photoggling

Home Gardening & Nutrition Training: Ebolowa, Sud

Curious as to why I have internet this week? More importantly, where in Cameroon I was? No fear, answers below.

This past week, there was a training on Home Gardening and Nutrition. So I, two other health volunteers, ten agriculture volunteers and thirteen counterparts went back to the motherland, Ebolowa. Aside from a few PST flashbacks, it was nice being back in the South again.

Day 1: Home Gardening

(All photos courtesy of PCVL Joe Natividad)

IMG_6735

My counterpart breaking up chicken poop, which is used to fertilizer the bed for the transplant.

IMG_6740

Me and my counterpart mixing the chicken poop into the soil.

IMG_6741

Spacing out the future homes for the transplants.

IMG_6743

Burning the bed in order to sanitize the soil for the nursery.

IMG_6726

Transplanting.

IMG_6744

IMG_6745

Day 2 & 3: Nutrition

(Photos courtesy of myself)

DSCN2079

DSCN2087

My counterpart, Jeannette, and I. NOTE: This pose is really popular in my village. I still have yet to figure out why.

DSCN2097

Peeling garlic during a cooking demonstration.

DSCN2099

Cooking Amaranthe, one the extremely nutritious leaves that people eat fairly often in my village.

DSCN2100

DSCN2102

Sauté-ing onions in palm oil

DSCN2107

Sporadic yoga session with counterparts and trainers

DSCN2111

Surprisingly really good at yoga for someone who doesn’t do yoga

DSCN2115

Everyone wanted to do yoga.

DSCN2117

(Note to self: work on yoga with Jeannette when we get back)

DSCN2114

DSCN2130

Another cooking demo, this time? Gumbo (okra)

DSCN2132

DSCN2141

DSCN2148

Pouring the finished gumbo, nice and slimy, comme toujours

DSCN2149

DSCN2167

Turning the couscous

DSCN2169

DSCN2174

DSCN2177

Finished couscous. Ready to be eaten with gumbo.

DSCN2178

My counterpart receiving her certificate of completion

DSCN2179

Shaking hands with Tiki

DSCN2180

She was pretty excited

 

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Home Gardening & Nutrition Training: Ebolowa, Sud

  1. Pingback: 366 Days of Summer: An Interview with myself | An Artichoke Abroad

Leave a Reply

