Photoggling

Have Yourself a Merry Little Jessmas…

For my birthday this year I decided to throw a Christmas party for my neighborhood. As most people do not know the date or even the month when they were born in my village, it was easier to explain that I wanted to throw a party for Christmas than for myself. Plus, after years of Christmas overshadowing my birthday, it was nice to steal the spotlight for a change and share my favorite parts of the holiday with my family here. (Read: paper snowflakes, Christmas tree, presents, burritos, temporary tattoos, stickers…basically just your average traditional Christmas party.) Of course, photos were a must. (Huge shoutout to Phoebe for taking most of them and helping with cooking, cleaning, petit management, etc.)

Pt. I: Decorations

First of all, I finally took the “no snow” issue into my own hands:

 

There was also a Christmas tree with wrapped presents, which ended up posing some confusion…

For the entire week leading up to the event, I struggled to explain the concept of a burrito to my family. Eventually, I used some fabric (to represent the tortilla) and then explained that you add a bunch of stuff to it and then roll it up and eat it.

Fast-forward to the day of: I invited my mom in to see all the decorations. Upon seeing the Christmas tree, she proclaimed: “Burr-ri-toh.”

Close, but not quite.

dscn3242

“Burrito”

 

Pt. II: Temporary Tattoos & Stickers

To explained the concept of temporary tattoos here, I described them as “American Seefa.” (Seefa is what they call the designs they paint on themselves for holidays.) Unsurprisingly, they were a big hit.

dscn3125

The children were a huge fan of my outfit and all wanted pictures with me. (Also balloons have recently penetrated the market here, hence the necessity of including the ballon in the photos.)

dscn3131

dscn3133

dscn3135

dscn3137

dscn3140

dscn3142

dscn3144

Let the wild rumpus begin.

dscn3146

dscn3149

dscn3150

dscn3152

Demonstrating how to put on a temporary tattoo. (Alternative title: Counting to thirty with children in Fulfudé.)

dscn3154

dscn3157

dscn3160

Showing off the new tats

dscn3162

dscn3163

dscn3167

dscn3170

dscn3169

dscn3171

dscn3173

dscn3175

dscn3195

dscn3178

dscn3181

dscn3183

dscn3184

dscn3187

A rare photo of me in my natural habitat.

dscn3191

dscn3194

dscn3159

dscn3169

Pt. III: Burritos

Did I make over 50 tortillas in one day? Yes. (Probably never ever doing that again, but I’m definitely an expert now.)

dscn3116

Before: Tortillas, guac, rice and lentils, eggs, and mashed potatoes. Not pictured: Mexican hot chocolate and cakes.

dscn3199

My burritos bring all the alhajis to my house.

dscn3201

Babas and burritos: the future of Chipotle.

dscn3202

dscn3206

dscn3211

Oumarou, my landlord.

dscn3212

Jeannette and her burrito.

dscn3215

dscn3216

Phoebe and my counterpart, Amadou Bello

dscn3217

dscn3221

A rare posed photo of Cameroonians smiling.

dscn3223

dscn3226

dscn3230

dscn3231

Round 2: Dadas and burritos. (The men and women eat separately here.)

dscn3234

dscn3236

My village mom is the other one in the middle.

dscn3238

Ha ha. Burritos are funny.

dscn3240

Miriam manga and Miriam petel.

dscn3241

Possibly one of the cutest babies.

Signs of a successful hosting? I made way too much food. Fortunately, the petits ate everything that was left after the party ended.

<<-|->>

American seefa” decorated the petits/ All the burritos, the babas and dadas did eat/ As the twilight fell, the nasara cried into the remaining light: A Merry Jessmas to all and to all a goodnight!”

*mic drop*

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

